Do you know that I got myself lost in Ta Prohm?

Ta Phrom is one of the famous temples of Angkor Thom. This is due to its postcard view among the overgrown trees and hugely popularized by Hollywood production such as “Tomb Raider”. Tourist throng here all season to get their pictures taken by the pillars and corridors of the temple, drapped with huge trees holding itself steadily by overflowing roots from temple roof to the ground.

As any other excited tourist I started off by taking snaps of myself and family members along the walls, trees and fallen sand stones of the temple. Then I decided to do things differently, with my cool handycam I pretended to be “an explorer in the newly found ancient site during the early 19th century”, when Ta Prohm was first found. As I went in and out of smaller temples in the compound, I got carried away and lost track of my tour group. Then I realized I am on my own…

I know what you are thinking….and it’s nothing like that. It was not dramatic, I’ve never got myself trapped in a series of chambers and dead ends but I just wandered around aimlessly among the ruins and thinking how long it’s gonna take before I can eventually find my way back to the group in time without spoiling the intenirary.

It’s a 13minute video….my view of Ta Prohm

