Gunung Batur

Gunung Batur

Apart from old temples, the majestic Mount Batur is also a residence of Bali. At a height of 1,730m above sea level, this active volcano is one of the highest volcano mountains in the island, Mount Agung being the highest. Mount Batur sits in the epicenter of a crater formed during a massive eruption many years ago. I admired the sheer size of Batur from Kintamani – edge of the crater. Luckily, there was no “Blow-Up” during my visit! I could see the remains of lava flow from the burned marks at its slope. I was told there are climbing tours organized to the peak everyday to catch sunrise, which I missed. Cool mountain breeze and a cup of hot tea with a fantastic view made my tour worth every Rupiah.

Stepped Paddy Field

Volcano craters make up large lakes in the island of Bali. Lake Batur, Beratan, Buyan and Tamblingan are natural water reservoirs for drinking and irrigation for the Balinese, arranged from the largest to smallest. Highland water irrigated to the land below for plantation, widely to paddy farming. Acres and acres of healthy paddy terrains can be noticed everywhere by the road shoulders, in villages and near tourist destinations. I experienced a paddy terrain firsthand at a small village of Tegallalang. Paddy plantation here is much different than in Peninsular Malaysia, as the paddies planted on hill slopes than plains. I had so much fun here. I walked the field, played paddy harvesting although the paddies have just been planted, had a photo opportunity with Didi and enjoyed the view of green carpet steps with tall coconut trees at the background. It was a fun-tastic farming excursion!

